First of all let me start on a sad note as I was informed today over the internet that Devon Clifford drummer in You Say Party! You Say Die! has died of a brain aneurysm. I remember YSP!YSD being one of the first bands I ever really got into it must have been about 2006 or 2007 listening to Steve Lamacq when I first heard them. Since then they disappeared off my musical radar until recently where I went back and to listen to them for the first time in ages and they were equally as fun as they were those years ago. My thoughts are with the band, family and friends.

So, back to school Tuesday had a nice inset day where i finished all the work that needed to be finished and made myself a nice motivational revision poster. If i do not revise then I do not get to see Slow Club and Summer Camp next month. Summer Camp’s debut single was released this week and I of course got it all nice and pre-ordered from Piccadilly Records and it is very nice indeed. School hasn’t been too bad you’ve just gotta get on with it really put you foot down and pull through the nightmare that is A-Levels. Theres a lot to be happy about which helps

Wednesday night saw the Glastonbury line-up and oh isn’t it beautiful nearer the time  I will do a top 10 bands I want to see at Glasto list. For me though really there was one massive name that stood out and that’s The Flaming Lips. Definitely one of my favourite bands of all time and from what I’ve read about their live show it proves to be flippin epic. And it’s only made better when you’ve got Florence and Hot Chip playing before. On Thursday I found out that I’ve got someone who can get me some alcohol which is good

Yeah so Thursday evening went out to celebrate my mums boyfriends daughters 21st and we go with various extended family and one of my mums boyfriends friends called Bob

PROBLEMS WITH BOB

  1. HE IS A TORY
  2. HE IS ARROGANT
  3. HE IS SEXIST
  4. HE IS OBNOXIOUS
  5. HE THROWS FOOD AT HIS KIDS IN THE RESTAURANT
  6. HE GET’S DRUNK AT EVERY OPPORTUNITY
  7. HE IS OPINIONATED
  8. HE DECIDED TO SHOW OFF HIS PANTS TO EVERYONE
  9. HE STARTED BANGING ON THE TABLE LIKE A DEMENTED GORILLA
  10. HE IS AN EMBARRASSMENT TO BE SEEN WITH

I hope I never get to meet him every again

Apart from that I sat quietly without really saying much, got some good uni and glasto advice though, wine in a bag is apparently the way forward.

Friday built up the anticipation for what as an absolutely brilliant Record Store Day at Piccadilly Records in Manchester. Woke up at 6:30 to and got the 7:30 train to Manchester with Michael Kinge and Jack Mitchell. We arrived outside the store to already see that the queue was already round the corner and going to down towards Afflecks. Before this i bought myself the Daily Mirror to read if I get bored (It had a great picture of Eidur Gudjohnson as a cloud, can’t remember what the pun was). I also bought a Frappachino. I have no idea what a Frappachinno is but it tastes very strange and made me very hyper. I didn’t realise that it was supposed to be cold I was expecting a nice warm cup of coffee but no what a mistake I made. So we were there two hours early and as you do you getting chatting with people you don’t know. There were free flavoured water for everyone in the queue it was all very nice indeed got asked by lots of people what was going on. So doors opened and Kinge got the very last Blur 7″ and a Hot Chip 7″he was very lucky indeed, Jack got Factory Records 12″ and I got a She & Him 7″, Dum Dum Girls/Male Bonding 7″ and LCD Soundsystem 12″. After this we bumped into the girl I was talking to in the queue found out that she had actually added me on lastfm a few months ago. What a small world we live in.

Here are a few pictures



So we continued to spend the rest of the morning/early afternoon wandering round Manchester buying things and enjoying the sun before hopping back on the train home. Got to mine and played everything, think I personally enjoyed Kinge’s Hot Chip 7″ the most. In the evening it was band practice, things just seem to be getting and better for us

Today I got up an enjoyed watching the F1 with my dad this morning, wasn’t a bad race. The game the greatest festival of the yeah…

SANDBACH TRANSPORT FESTIVAL

YEAH!!!

As if you don’t love wandering round a car park with a few cars and lorries on then walking through down watching the masses get drunk in the afternoon. Hasn’t Sandbach got anything better is this all people have got to look forward to in the year. I suppose it’s the same in most small towns such as ours up and down the country and it’s quite sad. I really do wish there was something interesting here. Nothing changes.

James x

