Since I’m going to 3 (possibly 4) festivals this summer and with Emily Eavis apparently stating that artists will be announced for Glastonbury in the coming weeks I decided that this would be the perfect time to track who I most want to see most of what expects to be a pretty awesome summer.

1. PAVEMENT

How could anyone resist such an awesome prospect and sadly it appears that i will almost certainly not get a chance to see them at any point ever. Unless they play the Sunday of Glastonbury and really can see them playing on a train at Indietracks. And there is no way I am gonna get hold of ATP ticket:

  1. I have no one to go with
  2. I have no way to get there
  3. It’s right in the middle of exams
  4. The cost
  5. My parents would probably murder me

I can still dream…

CHANCE OF SEEING : 2/10

2. ATOMS FOR PEACE

The announcement of this project stood-out as possibly one of the most interesting musical news events to happen for the last twelve months. Atoms for Peace leaves me feeling very intrigued and who knows what kind of sound that the always awesome Thom Yorke, Flea (not a huge fan of RHCP), Nigel Godrich (one of my all time favourite producers), some random jazz guy and a drummer who’s been in R.E.M. come up with. But it doesn’t take a genius to work out either way that it’s will be something very special indeed and a rare opportunity to see songs taken from Thom’s debut solo album performed live. Sadly once again I can only see this band appearing at Glastonbury and even then I reckon they’ll end up playing a secret show and I won’t get to see them.

CHANCE OF SEEING: 3/10

3. SHE & HIM

It is near impossible to resist the charms of actress Zooey Deschanel and folk monster M. Ward with their luscious retro sounds which could have been plucked right out of the 1960s. What I have heard of their ‘sophomore’ second record is that it promises to one of my personal favourites of 2010. And good news still is that festival appearance are looking rather vacant this summer in Europe other than ATP. Things look promising but still rather uncertain.

CHANCE OF SEEING: 5/10

4. PIXIES

Theres no reason to rule out a Pixies Glastonbury performance just about yet. Considering of course there part to play within the Glastonbury rumour mill with someone saying they’ll have the slot beneath U2 on the Pyramid Stage. And only to justify the rumours the band are playing around Europe late May and early June. So fingers crossed they’ll ride a ‘Wave of Mutilation’ over to these shores in about three months time.

CHANCE OF SEEING: 6/10

5: FRIENDLY FIRES

With album two on the cards and many festival appearances booked already this summer things are looking good once again in 2010 for Friendly Fires. And after sitting on the sofa watching last years Reading/Leeds and Glastonbury appearances have just left me yearning for the St. Albans based three-piece for a long time now. Especially with how good there live show apparently is. There only one way to get rid of the apparently from the sentence and that’s by finally getting the chance to see them myself.

CHANCE OF SEEING: 7/10

6. VERONICA FALLS

The amount I’ve mentioned Veronica Falls on this blog is coming close to a similar amount of times that I’ve mentioned Los Campesinos! Can’t really see many reasons why I’ll end up missing my favourite band of 2010 this summer after recently announcing that they’ll be playing Indietracks and I wouldn’t be too surprised if they’ll make an appearance at Dot to Dot. But then they’ll end up playing at The Death Institute just to spite my underageness (I’ll find ways to get in). Might be a little too early to see them at Glasto considering (as far as I know) that their still unsigned. Hopefully won’t be long before someone comes along and snaps them up.

CHANCE OF SEEING: 8/10

7. JEDWARD

O.K. we’ve had our silly options now it’s time for something serious. Jedward are brilliant end of, with there poorly choreographed dance routines and out of tune singing. This is the spirit of manufactured pop music encapsulated in the hearts of two boys who have had their souls sucked out by the Cowellenator. Who knows if I’ll see them but if I do then there bound to put a smile on my face.

CHANCE OF SEEING: 4/10

8: ANDY WILLIAMS

They certainly don’t make ’em like Andy Williams any more. And I just feel that there is something highly commendable about an 82 year-old getting up on stage and singing a great selection of hits. The fact i might get to see him makes it only more special considering that he’s one of the artists I’ve grown up listening to and the more I think about seeing him the more I want to.

CHANCE OF SEEING: 8/10

9. THE PAINS OF BEING PURE AT HEART

When I first saw that Pains… were playing Indietrack I was just like I gotta be there and if all goes to plan I will be. Dancing down at the front to sound of pure indie pop heaven, couldn’t think of any better way to celebrate the end of school than seeing this lot.

CHANCE OF SEEING: 7/10

10. TINCHY STRYDER

Me and Tinch have got unfinished business, this year I will go Morrissey on his ass…

CHANCE OF SEEING: 10/10

James x

